Online Music Store Online Music Store - the best music releases, weekly reviews by experts, mp3 samples, DVDs and merchandise. Our New Zealand music selection is second to none, and we ship worldwide. My Shopping Cart
Items: 0
Browse By
Search By Artist, Title or Song:

Flying Nun
Capital Recordings
Arch Hill
Dawn Raid
Fabric Records

Special Categories
Music DVDs
New Zealand
NZ Compilations
NZ Vinyl
On Sale
Top Sellers

Out Now

Citizen (CD)
Trinity Roots

Shipping Calculator

Don't Sell Your Soul

Mike James Kirkland

Usually Ships: 2 - 6 Days
Normally: $44.95
SmokeCDs Price: $34.95
Add To Wishlist

Disc 1:
  # Track Name   MP3 Sample
  1   Victim Of Circumstance (Pt. 1)   MP3 sample
  2   Don't Mess With Me   MP3 sample
  3   There's I Nothing I Can Do About It   MP3 sample
  4   I Need Your Lovin   MP3 sample
  5   Be Mine Forever   MP3 sample
  6   Don't Sell Your Soul   MP3 sample
  7   Baby What Are You Gonna Do   MP3 sample
  8   Split Personality   MP3 sample
  9   You're Living A Lie   MP3 sample
  10   Shopping For Love   MP3 sample
  11   The Straw That Broke The Camels Back   MP3 sample
  12   Gonna Try To Get You Back   MP3 sample
  13   A Man Ain't Nothing But A Man   MP3 sample
  14   Victim Of Circumstance (Pt. 2)   MP3 sample
Disc 2:
  # Track Name   MP3 Sample
  1   What Have We Done    
  2   Where's The Soul Of Man?    
  3   Hang On In There    
  4   Baby I Need Your Loving    
  5   Give It To Me    
  6   Blota Blota    
  7   You're Gonna Share Your Love    
  8   It's Alright With Me    
  9   The Prophet    
  10   Together    
  11   Love Is    
  12   Got To Do It Right    
  13   It's Too Late    
  14   O Me O My (I'm A Fool For You Baby)    
  15   You Put It On My Mind    
  16   Doin' It Right    
  17   Love Is All We Need    
  18   Love Insurance    
  19   The Only Change    

Smoke Notes

Before the release of his seminal, socially-conscious, 1972 soul album, 'Hang On In There', a young Mike James Kirkland released a number of singles as Mike and The Censations. Despite being offered a record deal by Curtis Mayfield, eventually making a deal with MCA, and selling in excess of 50,000+ singles, Mike and the Censations never released an album and never fully realized their potential. Here for the first time are all of his early releases, along with some unreleased gems discovered on tapes as this project was being researched.

Pigeon-holed as a doo-wop group by one of their early labels, Mike and The Censations fought to battle that image. In doing so they made a unique blend of soul, funk, and even jazz-influenced tunes, occasionally sneaking in an up-tempo number on a B-side. Their doo-wop tunes were pretty damn amazing too, dripping in soul and becoming big favorites of the low-rider scene.

Disc 1 - The Complete Story of Mike and The Censations:

01. Victim of Circumstance part 1

02. Don't Mess With Me

03. There's Nothing I Can Do About It

04. I Need Your Lovin

05. Be Mine Forever

06. Don't Sell Your Soul

07. Baby What Are You Gonna' Do

08. Split Personality

09. You're Living A Lie

10. Shopping For Love

11. The Straw That Broke The Camels Back

12. Gonna Try To Get You Back

13. A Man Ain't Nothing But a Man

14. Victim of Circumstance part 2

Disc 2 - 'Hang On In There' & 'Doin It Right':

01. What Have We Done

02. Where's The Soul of Man?

03. Hang On In There

04. Baby I Need You Loving

05. Give It To Me

06. Blota Blota

07. Your're Gonna Share Your Love

08. It's Alright with me

09. The Prophet (Bonus)

10. Together (Bonus)

11. Love Is (Bonus)

12. Got To Do It Right

13. It's Too Late

14. O Me O My

15. You Put It In My Mind

16. Doin' It Right

17. Love Is All We Need

18. Love Insurance

19. The Only Change

Product Details

Artist: Mike James Kirkland
Album: Don't Sell Your Soul
Cat #: LHC064
Date: 26/01/2012
Format: Audio CD
Discs: 2
Usually Ships: 2 - 6 Days
Genres: R&B/Soul
Normally: $44.95
SmokeCDs Price: $34.95
Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Tell A Friend

Also By Mike James Kirkland

Don't Sell Your Soul (2LP) - Mike James Kirkland Add To Wishlist
Don't Sell Your Soul (2LP)
Mike James Kirkland

Also Featuring Mike James Kirkland

California Soul - Various (Luv N' Haight)    $34.95
My Account
Sign In
Forgotten password?

Smoke Mailing List

Get the famous Smoke emails featuring the best music reviewed and delivered to you weekly:

Subscribe Now!
Weekly Emails
Best Of The Month
Sponsored Links